Freeport CF welcomes three new board members

The Freeport Community Foundation is pleased to announce the addition of three new members to its Board of Directors in 2014: Patricia Burke, Craig Monks, and Paulette Williams-Thomas.

“We are very pleased to welcome Patricia, Craig, and Paulette to our board of directors,” said Dan Schmitt, Executive Director of the Foundation. “Their proven financial, business and educational leadership, as well as their extensive community involvement, will definitely serve the Foundation well.”

Patricia J. Burke has extensive experience in Freeport School District 145. Patty has served as a teacher and Dean at Sandburg Middle School and was Building Principal at Empire and Sandburg Schools. Patty was also an Associate Principal at Freeport High School and retired as a full-time Assistant District Superintendent at Freeport SD 145. She earned her Doctorate Degree from Northern Illinois University. Patty presently serves on United Way Community Impact, Freeport Noon Rotary, Malcolm Eaton Enterprises Board, and Kent Bank Board of Directors. In addition, Patty is a consultant for Catapult Learning.

Craig Monks is a graduate of Illini Bluffs High School, Illinois Central College, and Eastern Illinois University with a degree in Finance. Craig has been employed as a Credit Analyst at Newell Rubbermaid, Credit Manager at Greenlee Textron, and Accounting Manager at Cornerstone Credit Union. In his spare time, Craig has coached and umpired both youth baseball and softball, and coached basketball for his two children, 11 year-old Sydney, and 9 year-old Cade. Craig and his wife Michelle have been married for 17 years.

Paulette Williams-Thomas is a Freeport native and an alumnus of Freeport High School. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism and Communications from Western Illinois University. A 27-year employee of MetLife, Paulette currently serves as a Supervisor in the Global Technology and Operations Agency Response Center. Paulette is also an active member of the Philippians Missionary Baptist Church, where she serves as Director of Youth Ministries.

Other board members for 2014 are Kimberly Beggin, Erin Dahms, Ralph Elliott, Barrie Hendrickson, Mark Miller, Kathy Moffatt, Bob Nickels, and Larry Williams.

The Freeport Community Foundation has a 39-year history as a community-based charitable organization guided by community leaders that are dedicated to providing financial solutions for current and future community needs.