Who We Are

Who Are We?

The Alliance of Illinois Community Foundations is a professional, collaborative network organized to:

  • strengthen and promote organized philanthropy in the State of Illinois, particularly through the promotion and development of publicly-supported community foundations in the State of Illinois;
  • educate the public on the benefits, purpose and role of publicly-supported community foundations;
  • assist and educate its members and other interested parties in order to facilitate and promote effective philanthropic grant making; and
  • provide a forum for the exchange of information on philanthropic programs and issues affecting the charitable nonprofit sector in the State of Illinois.

The Alliance of Illinois Community Foundations was formed in 2005.  The leaders on the Articles of Incorporation were:

  • Ms. Gloria Lundin, Community Foundation of Northern Illinois
  • Mr. James Sullivan, Community Foundation of Central Illinois.
  • Mr. Jerome Smith, DeKalb County Community Foundation
  • Ms. Lucy Murphy, Community Foundation of Decatur Macon County
  • Ms. Tana S. Odean, Community Foundation of the Great River Bend
  • Ms. Jill Arnold-Blickhan, Quincy Area Community Foundation
  • Mr. John Stremsterfer, Sangamon County Community Foundation